Fitness first!

I’ve had a bit of difficult week, with some personal issues going on. This happened to coincide with my dedication to an 8-week fitness program, through Tone it Up. There’s a workout to do every day, and contests to win via check ins with social media, so it really keeps me motivated and holds me accountable to complete the challenges. Normally, when I experience a personal crisis or emergency, I give up eating well and taking care of my body. I figure my mental resources are more important and being tired is a viable excuse to stop taking care of myself. Sometimes, being tired isn’t an excuse, it’s a reason, and I need to relax in order to engage in proper self care. But other times, it is just an excuse. While I’ve only been committed to the program for a week, I’m proud to say that my personal issues haven’t gotten in the way. I’m trying to view fitness and eating well as something that is really important to do when I’m tired and emotionally exhausted.

In terms of FODMAP, it’s been good and bad. I purposefully slipped on Friday, when I indulged in a Reese’s Ice Cream sandwich. My office was sweltering, and I had drank a lot of water but still wasn’t feeling any relief. I decided I needed ice cream! On the plus side, it was gluten free….I also slipped on Saturday when I ordered fries, asked if they were battered or breaded, was told “no”, then started eating them and realized that some of the crust on the fry wasn’t from being burned but from breading. My stomach was really unhappy after that!

The good: I found yet another great gluten free pizza at Benitos!The small was so good, I ate the whole thing…whoops! I made a delicious filling breakfast after my Sunday run, of gluten free oatmeal with peanut butter, maple syrup, and granola topping. Just look!

lemongingeroats

Gluten Free Maple Peanut Butter Oatmeal
serves 1

Ingredients:
1/2 c. Gluten Free Rolled Oats (not quick oats)
1 c. liquid (water, almond milk, regular milk, etc)
1/8 tsp. sea salt
pinch of cinnamon
1 tbsp. natural peanut butter
1 tbsp. maple syrup

To Make
Bring your liquid (I used unsweetened almond milk) and salt to a rolling boil. Reduce heat to medium, and add oats. Cook for 5-6 minutes, stirring frequently. Remove from heat. Pour your oats into a bowl. Add peanut butter, maple syrup, and cinnamon. Stir until well combined.

Now you’re ready to top it off! I added Secret Squirrel Food Lemon ginger granola to mine, but I can imagine this topping with bananas, coconut, strawberries…any fruit, really! I cooked some bacon with it for extra protein, and it kept me full for about 4 hours!

This week, I’m going to be experimenting with sweet potato gnocchi, butternut squash mac and cheese, roasted chicken, and tomato soup. Butternut squash is on the “watch out!” list for FODMAP’s, but I’m hoping it’s something I can consume occasionally.

Can’t wait to update with more great recipes!

Leave a Reply

