Cook Better to Take Care of IBS!

I have continued to have stomach issues/a flare up for the past week, and it’s been awful. I can’t pinpoint what could be causing, or could have, caused the problem. In order to combat the issue, I’ve been eating as strictly low FODMAP as possible: no possible/hidden gluten, refraining from dairy, staying away from HFCS, etc. I am slowly getting back on track, but it’s been a rough road. Here’s what I ate this week to “reset”:

1. Green smoothie for breakfast every day
2. Polenta with low FODMAP meatballs and FODMAP free sauce (mmm mm! This was so good)
3. FODMAP free hot dogs
4. Vegetarian stir fry with brown rice and FODMAP free stir fry sauce (again, MMMM MMM! SOO GOOD!)
5. Beef tacos with low FODMAP taco seasoning, and a vegetable mix stir fried in spices (always good!)
6. Gluten free pizza
7. Lots and lots of salads

Again, I’m slowly getting back on track. Also, while I’m getting a little misty-eyed that summer is coming to an end, I’m also getting a little excited for all the low FODMAP comfort food that I’ll be making as it gets colder! Looking forward to trying my hand at shepherd’s pie, minestrone, spinach pasta bake, and meatloaf.

I went out on a limb this weekend and decided to try a gluten free, vegan pancake recipe. Buckwheat Flour/Oat Flour pancakes filled me up, and I had plenty leftover. In fact, I packed some for my lunch today! I’ve been somewhat dissatisfied with pre-made gluten free pancake mixes, and have been searching for homemade, gluten free mixes. I also had a ton of buckwheat flour to get rid of. I put that all into Pinterest, and this recipe came up! It is from The Glowing Fridge. This blog has many, many recipes that are healthy, vegan, and easily low FODMAP modified. Check out my modified pancake recipe below!

Buckwheat Oat Flour Pancakes
total cook time: 30 minutes
serves 4 (or 8 if everyone has 1 pancake)

Dry ingredients
1 cup oat flour
1 cup buckwheat flour
2 tablespoons chia seeds
2 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Wet ingredients
1 1/2 cups almond milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar (*note: NOT FODMAP FRIENDLY, but such a scant amount that I don’t think it did me any harm. If you don’t want to use this, you could use an egg)

Peanut Butter Syrup
4 tablespoons peanut butter
3 tablespoons maple syrup
4 tablespoons warm water

1. Preheat a skillet, griddle, or pan over medium heat
2. In a large mixing bowl, combine dry ingredients and mix. Add in wet ingredients and mix well.
3. Coat pan or skillet with coconut oil
4. Scoop out pancake batter (about 1/4 cup) and spread out in a circle on the skillet. These pancakes are quite thick, so use the back of a spoon or flat measuring cup to help spread the batter. When edges of pancake appear “stiff” and no longer liquidy, flip over. Cook for a couple more minutes, until pancake appears completely stiff and without liquid.
5. Add more coconut oil and repeat for the rest of the pancakes.
6. Prepare peanut butter syrup by adding all ingredients together, and stir until completely mixed. Add to microwave and cook for 20-40 seconds, or until desired consistency. Alternatively, you could make this on the stove top and heat all the ingredients together.
7. Pour syrup on pancakes, and add toppings, if you so desire.

This recipe above is my modified version. The original recipe calls for ground flaxseed instead of chia seeds, which I didn’t have, so I used whole chia seeds. It also called for coconut sugar or sugar of choice, and I had white sugar, so I used that. The original recipe also indicates that my pancakes will turn “golden brown”. I used buckwheat flour as opposed to grinding my own groats, so my pancakes were the color of cement…no golden brown there. But don’t let the color deter you. They’re amazing, fluffy, and hearty. I would definitely make a few more adjustments, by adding an egg somewhere along the line and maybe grinding my own groats to limit the grainy texture of buckwheat.

Check out the process!

bwpancake

bwpancake2

bwpancake3

How’s your low FODMAP life going? What do you do when you have a setback or flare up?

Leave a Reply

