That’s a Spicy Meatball!

I finally made spaghetti and meatballs! One of my biggest challenges as a low FODMAPper is cooking Italian food. I am Italian, and it’s the food I know how to cook best. I’ve been eating it 4 times a week my entire life, and while I’d found a decent substitute for jarred pasta sauce, and a great substitute for pasta, I wasn’t sure how to tackle my beloved bolognese sauce. My bolognese sauce is a family recipe, passed on through the ages. It is loaded with garlic and onion, and I’ve missed it.

This weekend, I decided to make low FODMAP meatballs from Low Fodmap Ninja, and attempt some sort of bolognese. The meatball recipe does have milk in it, but I do not have a lactose or casein intolerance, so I used it.

The meatballs turned out really well! Flavorful, and they didn’t fall apart. I could never get my other meatballs to stick together, so this was a personal victory for me. Check out those beauties:

meatball1

meatball2

Here is the recipe below:
Low FODMAP Meatballs from Low FODMAP Ninja
Ingredients:
1 thick or 2 thin slices of gluten-free bread
1/3 cup milk (you can try substituting rice or soy milk)
1/2 pound ground beef
1/2 pound ground pork
1/2 cup finely chopped green spring onion (just the green part!)
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/4 tsp ground pepper
2 T fresh chopped parsley or 1/2 T dried parsley, ground
Instructions:
Heat oven to 350 degrees F.
Soak bread in the milk until soggy, about 5 minutes.
Squeeze the milk from the bread and combine with all other ingredients. Break up the bread into small bits while mixing.
Shape mixture into 1-inch balls (about 1 rounded tablespoon), pressing no more than necessary. Important! – don’t make the balls too big.
Place meatballs on ungreased baking sheets. Bake 7-8 minutes until no longer pink on the inside.

Rather than using two different meats, I just used 1 lb. of ground beef. I cooked the meatballs for about 11 minutes, and put foil on the baking sheet for easier clean up. They were really good, and I have a ton left over for future meals.

I had some meat leftover from the package of ground beef, and decided to attempt bolognese. I sauteed some cut chives in olive oil, added the beef, threw in salt, pepper, and italian seasoning, and stirred it until the beef was brown and crumbly. I then added Rao’s Sensitive Spaghetti Sauce, and some additional Italian spices. It was really bland compared to my usual bolognese. I need a little more tweaking to make it almost as good as my family version.

This week has been a good low FODMAP week! I made a concious decision to avoid all gluten because I really wanted to eat pizza this weekend, and my recovery from gluten was much quicker and less painful.

Any have some bolognese suggestions to share? I already plan on adding Italian sausage and garlic infused olive oil to my next batch….

Leave a Reply

