Lamentable Fermentables and KEEPING IT REAL

Adding things back into my diet continues, with excess fructose. I had a watermelon, cucumber, coconut water, and tumeric fresh raw juice, from my favorite juice company, Drought.

juice

Pretty, right? While it tasted delicious, I became bloated and gassy pretty much immediately. I also ate pizza this weekend, and had a piece of birthday cake. I have been FEELING it, and not in a good way. Bloated, gassy, constipated, headachey, cranky, nauseated for TWO DAYS. People try to be helpful: “Maybe it’s the sugar!” “It’s probably because of other ingredients in the frosting”. Nope, nope, nope. I can’t eat it. I just can’t. It’s over. This is my life now. A life without bread. A life without cake. A life without watermelon. A life without garlic. Not to mention numerous other things!

To keep it real, this sucks. It sucks big time. I am a person who lives to eat. It’s a huge part of my social life. When my friends and I gather, it’s around food and drinks. When my husband and I celebrate, it’s with food. I love to cook, and low FODMAP has taken some fun out of it. Some days, I feel really upbeat and happy about this lifestyle change. Today, I think it sucks. While my GI told me I can eat what I want, just in moderation, it’s again very evident how little moderation I had when eating, and how restrictive it is now.

I guess all of this has been a highlight and a low light: I know what I can’t eat, which is helpful. But it’s very limiting, which is depressing. I’m going to try to continue to make one new low FODMAP item each week. I didn’t get to the spaghetti and meatballs last week, so that’s been moved to this week. Wish me luck! Send me good vibes about this, because I need them!

Oh, see that picture up there? My instagram account is lowfodmaplife. I post a lot of food and recipes up there. Find me, friend me, and let’s keep each other motivated!

Leave a Reply

